2002 Dakota and other Options

Hey everyone, just joined the forum and am very excited to start planning my first wood gas conversion!

I have a couple options for wood gas vehicles and I was wondering if those with experience could weigh in? My intention is to have a versatile wood gas powered vehicle that I can use to occasionally carry a yard or so of wood chips/compost and also have the option of driving from city to country to work on an orchard.

A neighbor of mine has a 2002 V8 4x4 Dakota for sale so I was wondering if this option would be good for a first conversion and if it would fit my needs. Will plans for construction be easy to find on here and run easily parallel to other dakota conversion? Will the 4x4 aspect of the vehicle make it incompatible or too heavy for driving over 65 mph?

A second option is a low mileage (<200,000 miles) 93 V8 Dakota in solid condition. The seller is asking $3800 for a full sized bed 2 seater. I am wondering if since this is my first project in gas conversion if I should be looking for a cheaper truck (should such a truck cost less? I’m not sure if it is overpriced or if if with the economy of available trucks if this is appropriate). I don’t want to make any rookie mistakes and kill a perfectly good truck.

2 Likes

Good morning Kerem and welcome to the DOW.

The 2002 V8 dakota would be the 4.7 motor. We have had this motor tried hear on the site a few years back and it never work out like it should. The main problem had to do with the ignition timing .

My choice would be the 5.2 L V8. dakota .

I have always converted 1992 - 1996 . From 1997 to 1999 there is a shock absorber that has to be relocated to make room for the gasifier .

7 Likes