97 f150

I have no option but to use the vehicle that I already have, so it is my '97 F150. It has an extended cab with a short bed and a 4.2 liter engine.
How about some comments about this vehicle’s feasiblility for use with woodgas. Pros and cons would be helpful, as well as cautions and suggestions.
I am no mechanic and don’t know if I have an engine with ODB1 or ODB2. I just barely know that I don’t have a carborator.
I do however, have ample construction and fabrication skills.
Any comments?

97 should be ODB2
my 94 f150 extend cab short bed 4x4 with a 5.0 is odb1

i would be concerned about lack of power with that size truck
quick research says 200HP and they had some issues with cracked lower intake manifolds

i know in MO my truck almost needs 6000lb plates

If the intake is plastic I would pass on it.

Lou,
Before considering this truck I would do some research and learn as much about the design of the truck as you can. Information can be limited on these because
the dealerships don’t want you knowing how to fix them they much rather you bring it into them and charge you. Next I would think about what you are looking for this truck to do once converted on woodgas would it be for a daily driver or haul trailers and do work ?? I went ahead and converted my 2003 f-150 as an experiment
just to see if the truck would run on woodgas. It works but it wouldn’t be my first choice also it is not completed yet. still working away on the obd2 computer. BBB Sean

I don’t use this truck to pull anything and when I rarely haul anything, it is just light stuff. I do make long runs sometimes (Indiana to Texas and back) but mostly it is just to put around with.
I really want to get started in woodgas and this is my only option. If however, I cannot convert this one, I will have to figure something else out.

Lou,