Any way to test gas production before buying truck? and other questions

Hello to all,
I finally got started on my gassifier last weekend and finished welding all the blades on and the fire tube and the top plate this weekend(I am a college student and only get to work when I go home for the weekends). I have a truck now but its an old 86 chevy with a carburetor and I am planning on buying another truck with a mpfi for the gassifier. As I am on a college kid budget my dad who is helping me fund my project would like to see the gassifier produce some gas before spending money on a different truck. Does anyone have any experience/suggestions/ideas on how to economically test the gas production on the gassifier before having a truck with specific dimensions to form it to? I would be willing to do some re-cutting and re-welding if necessary but don’t want to have to completely change it to fit to whatever truck I choose to buy.

Also, we try not to burn pine through our wood stoves because of the tar and sap that comes from it but I see that other people on here run it through their systems, is it safe to run Pine though the gassifier without having to worry about the sap and such?

Finally, I am trying to use a stick welder(Mistake) to try to save money because I already owned one and didn’t have 500 bucks to put into a mig. Does anyone have any tips in particular for welding the thin barrels with a stick welder?

Thanks in advance for all the help and support. Hope to get this done before I turn 19!

Hello Walker and welcome to the site .

If you can flare the gas and maintain a flame that is hard to see in day light it will run a motor. As long as it is invisible in daylight it should be clean .
I usually can tell just by looking at the existing gas but it is a little harder to explain .

I use about 95% pine and have had no problem. ( used about 60 pounds of it today )