Anybody into ham radio?

Just recently got my licence, and was curious how many other hams are on here. Somehow it seems like a good fit for woodgassers.

For those who are curious, it’s really simple to get licensed these days - no Morse code needed, just some multiple choice questions. I studied over a weekend and passed the Tech and General exams that Monday.

I got a basic 2 meter setup for about $200. With that I can hit a dozen local repeaters, and talk worldwide via IRLP (internet relay). Eventually I’ll get a long distance HF rig, but those run into money… it’s just a side project for now.

Callsign here is K4DOW. Hope to chat with some of y’all over the airwaves!

7 Likes

I’ve gotten into it a little. Have my tech and general. Haven’t gotten past the $35 baofong yet though. Right now any extra money I have goes into the wood gas Ranger. KD8PQM

I need to look into it Chris, some time ago it was high on my to do list, I just got caught up in too many other things.

Used to be KA0AZA but that’s long gone along with equipment. I had to pass code and theory tests to get my general I think I was driving a 79 ford Fairmont at the time and installed a 2 meter rig in it the next day. Did talk to Brazil on 40 meters once though. Its a lot of fun.
Good for you enjoy it

1 Like

would love to have more information about it, any good links?

1 Like

Chris,

What study materials did you use to prepare for the exam? Post a link to your radio also!

1 Like

I watched this (very long) video:

And studied the practice questions here: http://hamexam.org/

Dustin, I found this guy’s videos first, which prompted me to look into this whole thing further. Great explanations of basic operations, repeater use, and reasons to get into ham radio.

I got the mobile radio he recommended, which works really well; the Yeasu FT-2900R. It pushes out 75 watts on 2 meters (VHF), and listens to all public service / police / fire / ems traffic, as well as weather band.