At last found source of wood. :-)

I have now a huge pile of wood chips that I have several plans for.

First and foremost is to figure out how to dry these chips, if anyone has an easy way of doing this, please let me know.

I am testing a solar dehydrator method using black plastic now, time will tell.

Past that point looking to design a wood gas device for these chips, looking for advice from the pro;s.

Thanks!

That’s quite a pile. I’m no pro but I think as long as you have moisture and a pile, you stand a chance of it turning moldy. What comes to mind is a corn dryer. Not that you need to buy a corn dryer, but if you’re going to be using wood chips, you’ll either need space to spread out and keep dry or some way to keep air to run through it.

Bill’s right - that stuff will be some rich compost in about a year. Better get it spread out to dry. Looks like some really stringy pieces, those will need to be recut or discarded.

You need to sort them first. This approach has several benefits:

• You will have a lot less stuff to dry
    -You will slow down the molding process quite a bit
    -You get some air to them right away.

I don’t see much green stuff in that pile. That is good. But, unless you have a lot of time on your hands, I doubt that you will be able to “save” much of that pile for wood gasification.

Do you have a goal for the size of chips that you want to save? I am going to take a guess that you are new to this. If I am wrong, sorry for wasting your time, but it is very hard, in my experience, to get long stringy chips to feed without bridging in the reactor. And the small chips clog things up. I shoot for chips that will fall through a 1" X 1" screen, but not through a 1/2" X 1/2" screen. Thicker chips are better. Longer and larger chips are also discarded. I look for chips made from whole trees, not from chipping brush. But that’s just me for my system, which is NOT a WK gasifier.
To get some more of my thoughts on this, go to: