Charcoal Gas Temps

Over on my “Charcoal Gasifier for Generator” thread, the subject of exit temperatures has come up.

I am new to charcoal gasifiers, and have been running / experimenting with a simple fire design for a month or two.

Up to this point, my impression from reading the forums has been that the gas temperature will start to heat up when the charcoal level is reduced below some critical level.

However, my experience contradicts this to some degree.

In particular, as long as the amount of charcoal in the reactor is something reasonable, it doesn’t seem to make a lot of difference whether the reactor is 5/8 full or 3/4 full.

My temps start rising above what I consider the “critical” level after about 45 minutes no matter what the level.

So, I have two questions that I am wondering about:

(1) Is it true that gas exit temps are a function of time to a greater extent than charcoal level (assuming some minimum depth of charcoal) and

(2) Should I care about the gas exit temps, other than for the fact that I am using low temp. sump pump hose to carry the gas? In other words, if I used some higher temp. hose, could I run with higher gas temps? At what temp. would this start to be detrimental to the engine? Currently, I am cutting off when the gas exit temp. hits around 150 F (I am sure it is much cooler than this by the time it runs through the hoses and passes through the filter, but I don’t have an exact number).

1 Like

Kyle,
I have been following all the posts on charcoal gasification. I am studying anything I can get in front of me on charcoal gasification And like you it seems to me that, gas temp is the issue here. if a person was to use flexible exhaust pipe instead of sump hose or pvc pipe, theoretically you could run a much higher temp. Sump hose starts to degrade at about 130F, PVC at about 150F flexable metal exhaust pipe?