Compressing wood gas for vehicles

There are some cars where a appropriate size charcoal or wood gasified unit cannot fit, so I am presenting the idea of compressing it into a tank to adapt to your car. It may struggle from a build up of possible carbon dioxide, so while compressing, the space of usable wood gas is compromised. Is this possible for cars to have a tank large enough to run the car as far as a tank of gas, or would it not be very practical or efficient? With an LPG unit, the gas is already liquified so it gets better concentration of fuel Btu just like gasoline. A gasified unit is more practical common, there is probably a reason it really hasn’t been done more often.

1 Like

I am not an expert on the subject, but based on previous industrial experience I think trying to compress and store it is more trouble than it is worth.

The gas will try and decompose to CO2 and carbon black because these are more stable forms than the CO.

3 Likes

Hello Tyler.

If you will click on the search button at the top right of this page and type in ( compressing woodgas ) about 10 threads will pop up .

I believe there is some good reading there .

4 Likes

@Wallace that is what I thought, I just didn’t know for sure, it seems like a risky move unlike some other compressed gasses to use in your vehicle. Thanks Wallace and Wayne, Tyler.

3 Likes

The main drawback with compression of wood gas is it doesn’t like being compressed. Propane compresses sort of like a mouse trap, it takes relatively little energy to flip it from one state to another. Which is why it’s ideal in refrigeration. Secondly, syngas has low energy content. That combo means that syngas doesn’t have a great payback on compression, it takes nearly as much energy as is in the gas to compress it. And given the low energy density, no practical range for a motor vehicle.

Town gas systems used to use “gasometers” to pressurize syngas, but only a few psi, mains pressure to deliver it to homes.