Digging carrots in winter

Hey everyone,
I thought I’d share my winter garden chore with you all. I’ve been doing this for about 20 years now. I tried storing them in tubs of moist sand in a cool corner of the shop but I lost a lot to rot. Even 48 degrees is too warm for long storage.
I also have salsify, parsnips and leeks under the snow. Vichyssoise is on the menu next week.
Check out my dig here.
Pepe

Hi Pepe, I can’t do youtube. We didn’t store many roots this year. Frost is in ground 8 to 9 feet in many places and 3 to 4 feet under where there was or still is snow. The flox and other mustards seem to be still alive as the snow and ice melt off. I’ll be fighting the woodchucks soon again. A cat I drove many miles away 2 months ago just showed up today an hour after I dropped off the trap. He’ll get bird shot next and then a real bullet. I won’t strain my back to trap him again. It’s a weird year. I hope you have been able to get up in the air this winter and look things over. Does anyone know what the transponder code was today ??? My dad designed the IFF system … Regards, Mike

Hi Mike, Here’s a few pics I took last winter. I can say I’m not a cat fan, but my wife rescued a male kitten from the side of the road last year and he is a great rodent killer so he stays. lol.