Gasified Fishing Boat Ideas

Marcus was talking about going fishing and gas cost. Boats that DOW. I have been thinking about this for a while now, like about 4 years to be honest. My boat is a 2 cycle 60 hp. Evenrude top speed 30 mph. Fuel mileage poor. I do run on my electric trolling motor when fishing. Buttrolling is done on the 60 hp.
Now if I took a old boat with a Mercruser 6 cycinder 140 hp. and gasified it I would still have about 100 hp. to move the boat down the lake. Fuel cost now $0.00.

Lots of boats that can be picked for $0.00 . Yup they need some work but they were free. Engines are good and out drives.
Open for input ideas.
Bob

9 Likes

IMHO, I know a lot about boats as I am a certified boat mechanic (or used to be anyway). I personally don’t think anything based on fire is a good idea for a small boat. There is just too much that can go wrong and can cause a life threatening situation. Now if you’re building a big steel tanker sized craft, then maybe.

4 Likes

I think that if Goran can strap a gasifier on his moped then you can surely gasify a boat. If you are going to catch on fire then I’d kind of prefer being out on the water. Maybe a hundred horsepower is a bit extreme,

8 Likes