I’m new to gasification

Hello I’m new to gasification and I was hoping you guys could help me learn a little. So I would like to build a vehicle powered by wood gas and I don’t know where to start. I figure it would be smart to make a smaller unit first something that could be used to run a small engine while I’m still learn the basics. I don’t currently have a small engine to run on wood gas but I would appreciate any advice you could give

Thanks all, dillpierce

7 Likes

Fine, so you have Wood?

1 Like

Haapio, I don’t have any wood stockpiled but I work at a lumber yard and live in a community where there is plenty of forest land. I figure I can get some.

2 Likes

That important, i need drive 10 km too farmer for me woodships.

I have a friend , he have a car drive on wood, but not drive that car.

I using wood-chips for heating.

And have a very good book From Vesa Mikkonen.

I know here , there is a car driving on wood for sale, but i don t want that.

I like build a tracktor , drive on charcoal.

but need first make a good proces formake charcoal.

This can be a good tarcktor too start.

3 Likes

You work in a lumber yard. Start collecting all the scraps and cribbing you can carry home. Cut it into chunks and burn it in a five gallon bucket to make charcoal. Lots of info on making charcoal here. You are going to want to start with a simple fire charcoal gasifier. Lot’s of beginner examples here. Start exploring the site.

5 Likes

Tom holton, What are the benefits of a charcoal gasification compared to wood?..I figure having to make charcoal might make it a bigger proses

If you have an overpowered vehicle that can handle extra weight, then go with wood. If you have a low powered and light framed vehicle, go with charcoal. Over-simplified rules of thumb: wood has 50% more power per volume, Charcoal has 50% more power per weight, and a wood gasifier is 50% heavier and 50% more difficult to build.

8 Likes