"Introduce yourself" thread?

Hello,

I looked for an “Introduce yourself” thread and did not find it. So I will introduce myself here. This will be kinda long. Sorry I am a old man with nothing better to do than flap my gums.

Admin’s and Mod’s please be gentle.

I am a retired engineer. Living in an Earth-bag dome in a remote corner of the Philippines. We have 4.2K off grid PV system.

Our battery bank is a 1920ah bank of Edison/Saft NiCd cells and Changhong NiFe cells. We have been off-grid for 7 years now.

I have been aware of gasification for most of my life. Close relatives in the Ozarks used it off an on for decades. But I do not yet know much about it.

My current interest in gasification is as an adjunct to Anaerobic Digestion. I have worked out a feasible in the tropical boonies method of extracting nutrients from agricultural wastes. Weeds, grasses, leaves, etc.

AD produces a modest amount of fuel gas. Most importantly is serves up digester effluent which we have found to be a concentrated, superior, fertilizer. I have two aero-ponic grow barrels growing leaf lettuce / cabbage off of nothing other than diluted effluent.

But we are left with mountains of wood / branches / stalks / and shredded “empty” straw. A relative suggested that it might be able to gasify this biomass and extract even more fuel, and be left with a “char” for a soil amendment.

My target is to fuel existing 5 → 7hp diesel/petrol engines for irrigation and generation.

Please bear with me while I lurk/learn and ask the inevitable silly question. Thanks for letting us in.

7 Likes

Plata o plomo…

Do you have ties to Mexico? :relaxed:

un poquito. Spent a bunch of time in Southern AZ.

1 Like

Una referencia bien astuta a la cultura Méxicana… :slight_smile: