JO´s 8" gasifier

My plan was to wait a while before showing pictures not to reveal my slow progress, but Tom Collins ruined it.
I actually started early spring but the rebak chunker suddenly felt more fun and a lot of other things seems to take up ones time.
Remember I´m not a very good welder and this is my first try building anything this complex. I´m building mostly from material I already have. I don´t want to spend a lot of money on someting that might fail.

This is not a WK. It´s more Imbert(ish):
8" burntube, 7 replacable (I hope) nozzles petruding 1/4", 4" above a 3-3.5" restriction. 6" reduction tube 8" tall inside burntube. Void will be filled with asch. Gas housing is a 12" propane tube surrounded by another one for air (13"). Air will enter at the bottom, swirl around gas housing and enter air jacket around nozzles through blowholes. I will be using a cyclone, with or without a preheat shroud, we´ll se.

10 Likes

Looks good…

1 Like

Ugly welds on a working unit are far nicer than perfect welds on a thought experiment. :grinning:

4 Likes

What about when its both ugly welds,and dreaming gasification,not sure it will run motor.I may have both.Looks much better than mine allready

2 Likes

What would we do without TomC?

5 Likes

Great job JO; I don’t know what was meant by the weld comments. The best picture of your welds is on the cyclone and what I see compared to my welds is very good. I don’t know what size engine you are going to run and with an Imbert design it is kind of important to fit the design of the gasifier with the engine. With just a few slight differences, your dimensions look close to mine which is running a 4.3 Liter engine.
Oh by the way. If I spoiled your surprise by asking for pictures, I’m sorry. I am just not very patient. I have watched with envy your saw mill, and then your rebak chunker and just couldn’t wait to see what you were doing with gasification.