Need Advice

Howdy All,

I’m just getting started and have reviewed a lot of info regarding Gasifiers, especially ones for vehicles, but I have a ton of questions. Here are some of the questions most outstanding on my mind.

Why do some plans use a tapered hearth design (Like two funnels, bottom one upside down), and others use a slight tubular design packing the outside of the tube with ash?

Does preheating the inlet air help with getting rid of the tar?

Do the nozzles want to be kept back out of the tubular area? Is this so they don’t get too hot?

Is it best for the chunks of wood to be the same size around 2 inch size? (I see many folks comment that uniform size, not mixing sizes works better?)

A good dense hardwood will go further (More stored BTU), but does hardwood limit the amount of gas produced in a given time, or should someone mix their wood so there is always some hardwood and softwood gasifing at the same time?

Anyone had trouble with the tubular cooling system on the side of the body cracking due to twisting of the truck bed, especially doing farm work, running the fields, etc where the ground is uneven?

I’m sure I will have a lot more questions as I go.

Hi Kenneth, welcome to the site! I’ll try to answer some of your questions.

Why do some plans use a tapered hearth design (Like two funnels, bottom one upside down), and others use a slight tubular design packing the outside of the tube with ash?
The ash filled design came after the dual-funnel, and it has the advantage of being impervious to the heat, and good insulation. However the two-funnel design is still in use, since it’s smoother. Maybe an Imbert expert can chime in here. It’s worth noting that the Keith gasifier uses neither of these.

Does preheating the inlet air help with getting rid of the tar?
Yes! This is part of why the Keith gasifier makes no tar.

Do the nozzles want to be kept back out of the tubular area? Is this so they don’t get too hot?