New Guy from Yukon Canada

Hello Everyone!

I would like to introduce myself. My name is Byron Gagne, I’ve been reading here for a while and finally pulled the trigger and got a lifetime membership. Im brand new to woodgas. But really want to build myself a woodgas truck in the worst way, a quick search of the internet and the rest was history. Yep the books in the mail.

A little about myself. By all means I’m not a mechanic, computer geek, engineer, or scientist, more of a jack of all traded master of none. I trap north on the Yukon Northwest Territory border. By trade I used to fix appliances, and recently we just moved off grid, building myself a little piece of heaven on 15 acres of land. With my sawmill, rebuilt 1981 skid steer, and lots of love from my wife and 5 yr old daughtor.

Recently I took a shop hand job where a good friend runs a mechanic business. Just so I could learn how to weld and fab. They have plasma cutters, drill press, and welders of all shapes and sizes. The yard is full of steel! The other reason I started there was to get better deals on equipment hoe’s and dump trucks for dirt work on my property.

This summer I built a shop 26x46 out of 8x8 timber. My wife and I basically did the shop all by ourselves. We scrounged up windows, bay door, man door all pretty much for free. Our plan is to live in the shop and save $, to build the house. Where totally off grid, heat, bake cook, and domestic hot water is all rigged through our wood cook stove. Currently working on building a thermal electric generator then we will also be producing electricity on the stove to power our electronics, and leds.

Woodgas is the next big move for me, complimenting my whole system, a truck build and possibly one for the shop generator, would be a real slick set up.

But first on to the research on the forums further keep my head up for material and a truck, and once Wayne’s book arrives study that back to back!
Nice to meet you all,
Byron Gagne

Howdy Byron,