Newbie here...in Maryland

Hi, Rick from the Eastern Shore in Maryland. (let me know if anyone is on the shore).
I only just started to be fascinated by this after seeing some YouTube videos…awesome stuff.
So I am definitely considering this, and considering getting Wayne’s book.
I do wonder about OBD2 vehicles? I currently have a 95 Nissan Frontier with a 4 Cyl and I believe it is a MPFI.
Any thoughts on that truck…or get something else.

2 Likes

Welcome. I am in NH but I haven’t built a gasifier yet. As to the book I you can’t go wrong it is well worth the price alone and you also get access to some posts with tons more information showing the internals of the build.
You will find a lot of great advice here for whatever project you choose.

2 Likes

Rick,
The gasifier in the book is built sized for a Dodge Dakota, 5.2L V8 MPFI. That being said, I would vote for you to try the truck you have on wood gas and see how it runs. The computer on many vehicles will do the spark advance for you. I know some of the GM vehicles work that way. You should expect to be able to feed in some gasoline for hill climbing and such, we call that “Hybrid” mode. Mostly that is done by running the existing fuel pump at an adjustable rate. Spark advance is the key to getting the best power from a wood gasifier. I am not the expert here, others will chime in! Welcome! :grin:

3 Likes

Good morning Rick and welcome to the DOW.

" I currently have a 95 Nissan Frontier with a 4 Cyl and I believe it is a MPFI.
Any thoughts on that truck…or get something else."

I think just about all internal combustion engines will run on woodgas . The issues are some will operate much better than others , some will be much easier to convert and some will be much easier to maintain .

I don’t know enough about the Nissan to give an intelligent answer to the question. Using the vehicle you already have is usually a positive move but there may be a lot of negatives involved also.