Newbie Welding Question

Hi, I am very intrigued about the possibilities of building a gasifier. However, I have no welding experience. At what level do I have to be to have a very good chance of successfully completing a Keith gasifier? There are several classes at our local CC and other places. If I took a 3 month course could I be anywhere close to having the level required?

6 Likes

I think that should be plenty to have a good idea on putting together a Keith gasifier. It’ll help you learn how to dial in a machine for different metal thickness and whatnot. The most important thing besides the strength of the weld in a gasifier is if it’s air-tight. Can’t have any leaks especially where the gas is still hot, oxygen will get sucked in and can ignite the gas making it weak.

I’m self/youtube taught but that’s a few years of trial and error.

8 Likes

I would say if you can afford a decent welder, you would be fine takeing a cc class, thats what i did back in 1977 after high school, and learned more than enough too get all the basics, then you can spend some time practice welding in your home shop, i never had any luck with the cheap harbor frieght type mig welders, I ended up buying a used snap on mig welder, good duty cycle, its about 100 percent duty cycle at around 150 amps, I lucked out and got it for 800 bucks about 10 years ago, I got my eye on a eastwood mig welder, the bigger one,it was good priced, before coved ,caused inflation too skyrocket, prices. havent checked too prices in the last few years.

6 Likes

Welcome aboard Tim, glad to have you hear!
A 3 month class will cover all the basics and with mig I absolutely think you that would be enough to build a WK

8 Likes