Pnuematically Actuated Valves

Essentially an air cylinder on top of the valve instead of springs, lifters, rocker arms or cams. Controlled by a solenoid valve, just like an injector is. Pressure could be sources from Air conditioner pump on average engine, lift could be adjusted with hydraulics or just the cylinder being mounted on a slide moved by an electric motor. Makes engines more powerful and efficient. Koeninsegg/Cargine are doing something similar. Less fuel consumption and torque lost to friction and variable lift would all be very helpful for woodgas, though it would require a custom programmed ecu

I assume you mean the intake and exhaust valves of the internal combustion engine.
I’m thinking speed of operation and Mean Time To Failure (reliability) would be huge issues, but I’m not an engineer.
Since air is compressible, I wonder if you could get the valves all the way open fast enough and closed fast enough to control the timing as closely as needed.
We used to have a lot of trouble keeping piston seals in simple pilot valves if they got just a little bit hot.

I do know that a lot of effort has already been put into electrical solenoid operated engine valves.

Pete Stanaitis

I definitely understand the worries about mean time to failure. But it’s definitely doable, and you get essentially a perfect cam profile. I don’t know why they use springs instead of a dual acting actuator, pressure open, pressure close. Not exactly airing on the side of simplicity, but efficient.