Reduction zone?

This is my first attempt at a gasifier, and basically I’m scared of screwing it up. In the FEMA manual it says I’ll need about a 16" x32" + to run a 350. My question is, does the firetube need to be necked down into a reduction zone? Or would it be better to maintain the 16" at the bottom?

!

Which would e better?

Welcome to the site Matthew.
There are many of us on here that have tried a FEMA gasifier. Many have ruined engines in doing so. The problem is because it produces tar. My best guess is because the air coming in isn’t preheated. Matter of fact, it’s cooling the wood down before the jets and just can’t get hot enough to make the thermochemical reaction needed to make engine grade gas.
There’s good news for you. Wayne has figured out a gasifier with all kinds of preheated air and has logged in 100’s of thousands of miles.

5 Likes

Also a hearty DOW welcome Matthew.
The primary problem with the F.E.M.A. design is it is a “floating zones” system. Without zone defining air jets; without a constriction all-gasses-must-flow-through zone defining area as you use a FEMA it will zones-float making too much wet, sooty, tars laden produced gasses.

Your picture shows well you are willing to cut, grind, Fab and weld. This is good. You are a NOW-DOer. This is even better.
Actually there are at least three broad ways to woodgas produce for a 350 CID Chevy engine.
Mr Wayne says his DID begin as a FEMA base. Then added air jets. Then added air pre-heating/firetube cooling system. Along the way added-in a soots-dropper/heat-exchanger. Refined out a parallel pathways cooling rack and natural-stem “hay” filtering system.
Really need to buy the book to see all of the devilish-details including engine controls.