Sizing a Simple Fire Reactor (Beginner)

Hi all,

I’m new to gasification, and I was hoping to ask for your advice. I’m planning to start out by building a no weld, Gary Gilmore Simple Fire charcoal gasifier, to power a 212 cc Predator OHV Honda clone. Mine has a 1" ID air intake.

I’ve read a number of threads and watched a number of videos, and I was hoping to ask a few questions before I start bending metal. I saw this thread on the forum started by Alex Taylor, discussing making a simple fire from a 4 gallon, stainless steel pot:

https://forum.driveonwood.com/t/no-weld-simple-fire/1672

That seemed like a nice approach to a first charcoal gasifier, but I thought that a bigger container supporting more than a ~1/2 hour runtime would be good, just to practice running an engine stably for longer times. After some poking around, I found these 14 gallon, stainless steel fermenters:

https://chapmanequipment.com/services/fermenters/univesseltm-fermenter-150290132

They’re 19" tall, 16" inner diameter, and have a clamping lid with a silicone gasket that must be specced to take at least some heat. I’m really interested to try this, if I can find one used for a decent price.

To get to my actual question, I see that the 14 gal. fermenter is made of 20 gauge stainless, per the manufacturer. I see a lot of people making their reactors from propane tanks and water heaters, and I’m sure thicker metal is always better, but I also see people with stock pots, like above, and steel barrels that must be pretty thin gauge. I haven’t seen any explicit guidelines in any of the threads I’ve read; would anyone care to comment? Would a 20 gauge stainless steel vessel like this fermenter be:

A: Suitable for long duration operation of a charcoal gasifier powering a small engine
B: Good enough for a beginner’s learning/prototype gasifier that won’t have a long service life
C: Unsuitable for any use as a gasifier reactor
D: Something else?