Tesla turbine to drive a generator

I am new in gasification, so you will forgive me if this is nonsense :slight_smile:
Since gensets are sensitive to tar, I was thinking like this: what if Tesla turbine is used instead of genset?
Woodgas will drive the blades and flame of the torch will pull the gas.

3 Likes

This guy is driving me crazy. An automated boiler on chips would do the trick. But I dont allow myself to dream away. First some real woodgas.

1 Like

Hmm, regardless of whether the wood is converted into tar gas in the gasifier, or into ā€œpureā€ wood gas, in both cases we get the same or similar amount of energy from a certain amount of wood, so itā€™s worth making an effort, studying and following known good advice on the construction of a gasifier. Here on this forum there is a lot of knowledge and experience in this field, but no one can learn it for you, ā€¦
Do a trial run on some smaller carburetor and engine to get a feel for that type of skill, then move on to a larger system.

9 Likes

Veljko, tar is generaly only a problem for begginers. We all went down that route. You make something resembling a gasifier, that kinda makes some gas, and expect to run any size engine off of it. Once you do some reading, make a well made and well sized gasifier generaly tar never reapears.

14 Likes

In the late 1980ā€™s into the early 1990ā€™s in the US state of Connecticut there was in development a regional benefit bio-mass power station project.
Intended to be several hundred to a thousand of mega-watts. For the better-on-paper efficiency the designer-engineers specified gas-turbine generators.

All other aspects of the big project were developed. Scrub growths woody harvesting. Chipping. To a central point truck delivering.
The gasification progressed and developed after some problems to reliably make tars free fuel gases.
But failure, after failure on those turbine generators.