What to expect driving through the city

Hi guys, newbie to the forum, I’ve built some smaller scale gasifiers in the past and am preparing to make the jump to driving on one. I have one question, am I going to get bothered by law enforcement? especially in the city? I’m a student so I have to go to class a few times a week downtown. I don’t see why I could get ticketed but I can see why I might expect some trouble (or just curiosity), especially if I have to refuel. “whys he got all that smoke coming out of that thing on his truck?” and "your driving with a bunch of burning wood in your truck?"and other such things. Some questions won’t bother me at all, I’m just young and have gotten headaches for little to no reason before, thanks!

4 Likes

Welcome to the DOW ConnerH.
What city; in what province/state; in what country; please?
What intended vehicle?
regards
tree-farmer Steve unruh

Hello Conner and welcome to the DOW.

What city ?

There is a chance I may have driven through there . I have ran on wood through AL , AZ, AR, CA, CO, FL, GA, IL, IN,KS, KY,LA,MI,MS,MO,NE,NV,NM,NC,OK,PA,SC,TN, TX, UT, VA, WV, WI, and WY

I have driven somewhere between 200K and 400K miles . Lot of the miles where unnecessary but fun :grinning:

I have run into road blocks several times for drivers license and insurance checks but none of the officers have ask about the apparatus in the the bed of the truck. However I was stopped by an Alabama State trooper but he didn’t question anything about the truck but he did give me a speeding ticket. ( 75 mph in a 55 zone ) Until this day he doesn’t know he gave the first woodgas speeding ticket in the US :grinning:

Driving on the countrfy roads are more enjoyable than the city but that is true with me gasoline or wood.

If the gasifier is built right there should be no smoke to get any attention. With a little practice you can learn to run your gasifier down to where there will be no smoke even when refueling.