Where to Begin

Hi all, My name is Ryan and I’m new to woodgas and looking for advice. I have read some Mother Earth Articles, and looked over the FEMA plans and a few other things, but basically I am starting from scratch and want to know what the best stuff to read is and what I can avoid wasting time on. My plans are to convert my 89 F350 truck, it has the 460 fuel injected engine. From what I’ve read so far this seems like it should be a pretty good truck to use. I probably won’t be able to afford to drive it anywhere soon on petrol gas anyway, so I figure I should take a shot at woodgas. This truck has around 200k miles and is probably about due for an engine rebuild, I am wondering if you would recommend rebuilding it before even messing with wood gas, or go ahead and experiment and then rebuild later when it’s finally shot. It starts, idles, and runs fine now, but it has a lot of power loss and burns almost as much oil as gas :slight_smile: I use the truck mainly for hauling construction materials and firewood, I suppose with the woodgas setup I will probably be mostly pulling loads on a trailer, but nothing as heavy as what Wayne does.

My priorities would be in order of importance; low initial cost, simplicity of design, simplicity of use, efficiency, and lastly performance. I wouldn’t really mind having to go slow to get where I am going as long as I can get there, especially if it’s free. I live in the woods and wood fuel is not an issue.

There seems to be a bunch of good information on this site and I will be interested to see Wayne’s design, when will the book be available?

Thanks for any advice or suggestions.

Hi,