Will This Engine work?

I am a newbie. My question is can I use a 2005 chevy 4WD 1500 Ext Cab with a Vortec 4800 V8 SFI gas engine to convert to Wood Gas?

Thanks

3 Likes

I don’t see why it wouldn’t work. I made a 2011 GMC Sierra 4.3L run on woodgas.

Figure out which fuses run to the fuel injectors and fuel pump, in my case it was the ENG labeled fuse for the injectors. For stop and go town traffic I would only shut off the fuel pump and let the injectors dribble.

3 Likes

Hello Bill and welcome to the DOW ( drive on wood )

I don’t know if you have had time to read through the library but some information that might help.

5 Likes

Wayne,

I am honored that you replied. I read over 600 posts in the general starting with your first post. My question was not answered. Most used your choice a Ram V-10 or the smaller V-8 in the other doge products. Because of the computer in the GM vehicles are probably different than the Dodge I was wondering if anyone used the 4800 V-8 SFI. I did not see anyone using it. I will be buying your book and get access to its information and also access to all of the other posts.

7 Likes

Thanks Cody. I am sure I will be asking many question during my attempt to convert my old truck to DOW.

6 Likes

No problem.

I’m currently putting a Wayne Keith gasifier for my 76 GMC Sierra. While woodgas worked in my 2011 I’m still paying for it so I don’t want to tick off my bank.

Definitely look at the Wilbur Smith build that Wayne did, dimensions can be the same, only thing that would change would be choke plate size.

4 Likes

LS motors are interference motors. If you get your intake valves sticky at the very slightest you will smash every intake valve. OBD-2 is is OBD-2 it dont mater what the make is.

4 Likes

As far as I know, all the engines folks here have wood gassed are interference engines. That normally means a valve trying to occupy the same space as the piston. I think tar locked valves are a different kind of problem.

1 Like