Wrong track?

Am I on the wrong track?

I’ve been making charcoal products for a few years now, biochar, potting mix, and charcoal for cooking. I use a T.L.U.D. like Gary Gilmore. I’ve also distilled the smoke to get wood vinegar. I’ve been looking at ways to utilize the waste heat.

Most recently I set up a top lit downdraft 55 gal drum with connected to a 55 gal cooler/cleaner pulling the smoke/gasses with a 12v boat bilge blower.

The smoke/gasses would not ignite and my cooling cleaning did not work so as to end up with stinky watery tars through the blower (sucker)

Might I be right in thinking that burning wood this way is not going to give me enough heat or does it sound like I just need to improve the filter system.

I know this is asking a lot without pictures or much more information but I have had trouble uploading pictures. I will try and send a picture/s again.

Regards all from Vince Smith, Ingham Nth Australia.

I’m somewhat of a newbie in this, but you are burning wood in one barrel and trying to suck the smoke down through that into a second barrel, correct? All that heat, fire, and smoke wants to go up and I don’t think a 12v bilge blower sucks enough to battle that.

Also, where are you putting your sucker? Is it inbetween the barrrels or after the cooling/cleaning barrel? If it’s between the 2, would it be able to withstand the heat?

Top lit updraught will work and bottom lit downdraught will work but top lit downdraught would not be passing through a charcoal layer and will produce smouldering pyrolysis gas not clean wood gas…
Best regards. David Baillie