Blowers?

What do you guys use for a blower? Any cheap ones out there that I could use? I should note that I will be using charcoal only with a gas cooler, so the gas should be fairly cool.

Would something like this work? http://www.amazon.com/dp/B001O0DE8K/

I started with those but they didn’t last long, and don’t move as much air as these 4" .

http://www.roushyatesparts.com/detmar-blower-p/det-751.htm

I think $100 order is free freight.

P.S. I have no experience with charcoal gasifiers.

what about them didn’t last long, Carl?

I don’t know if it is just general brand quality or what. We need more blower capacity then maybe you do on charcoal, so they might work just fine for you. Another thing is that charcoal gas is much cleaner than what we make at times. Mine were pretty dirty when they failed.

I’ve got one already, so I’ll use it for testing, but I’ll make sure and put a good filter before it. I do think tars and stuff will definitely take their toll on these plastic blowers. I’m sure if the blades get enough gunk on them, that would stress the bearings.

Ok, so I’ll just be careful with it, I’ll just be using it to flare and testing.

I mount mine so they are not continuously in the gas stream. I had two fail before I started doing so. I put a "Y in the line that has the direct leg going towards the engine. The other leg goes to a 45 degree bend,( bring the line of this leg parallel to the original gas line), then the blower, then a 45 deg. bend and into another “y” that has the main leg going to the engine. TomC

Abe,
The model Carl put up is 240 CFM compared to the 100 CFM rating of the brand you posted
http://www.attwoodmarine.com/userfiles/store/product/files/1238/1731.pdf
Thanks Carl, I will be copying that post to my thread for future use

I moved my blowers from the continuous gas stream as Tom and others have done.