Cost of Early 90s Dakota

I found a low mileage (<190,000 miles) 93 V8 Dakota in solid condition. The seller is asking $3800 for a 6.5’ bed 2 seater.

I am wondering if since this is my first project in gas conversion if I should be looking for a cheaper truck (should this truck cost less? I’m not sure if it is overpriced or if if with the economy of available trucks if this is appropriate). I don’t want to make any rookie mistakes and kill a perfectly good truck. Can anyone weigh in with what a reasonable price for a 93 V8 dakota or the like should be? Kelly blue book says it should be around $1000, but I know the market for trucks can be quite hot. Thanks!

3 Likes

Hi good question i have been wondering this as well. Also could anyone wiegh in on the ram 1500s for wood gas converstion from the same time period?

Why are dakotas better lighter with bigger motor or other reasons?

3 Likes

You get a better fuel efficiency with the lighter body and bigger engine.

And there’s no replacement for displacement especially when it comes to woodgas.

My 86 Mazda B2000 Mini truck had a 2 Liter engine and my max speed was 55mph, and I had the acceleration of a VW Bug. I bet Wayne’s Dakotas have a very nice acceleration.

Personally if I had the money to spare and that was the only Dakota around, I would consider it.

My uncle has a 98 Ram with the 318 V8, I’m waiting for him to ask me to put a Gasifier in it :grin:

2 Likes