Diesel ignition idea

Following on from my forced induction questions, I was talking about how difficult it was to find a large petrol engine in the UK. I’ve been an engineer for over 10 years and have worked extensively on diesel engines which led me to thinking about a diesel to woodgas conversion.

After reading the discussions that you guys have had on here, i’ve found out from you guys that you need to use a small amount of diesel as an injection source.

Now, as I was working today, I was thinking to myself about how you would go about turning a Compression ignition engine to a Spark ignition engine. impossible right? No distributor for spark timing.

Well, i was wondering if there was a way to modify an injection pump to make a distributor and I think I have found a way to make it work. There’s a lot of very capable mechanics and engineers here so if you guys see any problems with this idea please speak up.

Using the injection pump (with an operating oil inside) Immense pressure is created when the Cams push against the plungers forcing fluid through the lines. If a peizoelectric hammer and crystal was placed at the end of a fuel line (i.e a barbecue style igniter) a high voltage will be created which could power a spark plug! peizo crystals create massive voltages capable of lighting gas as we know.

The job of machining a cylinder head to accept a spark plug instead of an injector is a fairly simple matter either shimming down or boring out and tapping to the correct size and thread.

Then adjusting the timing of the ignition is as simple as adjusting the fuel pump timing gear.

So basically, the idea in summary is to convert an injection pump into a hydraulic pump to actuate individual peizo ignitors and cause a spark.

Doing this would completely eliminate the engine’s ability to run on diesel but if woodgas is your only fuel source, i think it stands a chance of working.