Filters

Hi all! Brand new here and needing advice. Built an Imbert type Gasifier and have a single filter stuffed with stainless steel pot scrubbers.My flame is not as blue as i would like and upon holding a clean dry white rag over my flare stack after an hour run and after putting out flame, it had a black sooty covering that was dry and mostly blew off with compressed air.Going to add secondary filter and wanted thoughts on either a baghouse type or just hay or wood shavings.You can see my unit flaring on youtube(docdcox). Thanks and glad to be part of Driving on Wood. Dan

Hi Dan, About 34 minutes into this video is the latest flare we should look at? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NznGOoDGyCY&feature=plcp
Nice work. Lots of videos to go through!

I’ve pretty much used wood chips in our filter… always seemed to work ok.

and yup right around the 32 min mark… i’d try running an engine on that

I’m no flare expert but I think the yellow in your flame is just soot. I believe white indicates hydrogen. You’re pulling a lot of vacuum on the system, and soot is very hard to filter out. The napkin test is much more telling. If you’re not getting tar, I’d definitely try it on an engine. Soot won’t hurt anything, it burns in the cylinders.

Good morning Danny,

Thanks for posting and sharing the videos,

I’m with Arvid and Ray. At about 34 min the gas looks good.

Nice looking gasifier! You have some time and money in it.

I think with enough filters one might be able to eliminate the soot. I am using the gasifier on vehicles and have limited space so I keep the filters to a minimum. I use hay and it seems to work very well. Also I have seen no evidence that soot getting to the motor will harm it.

With a tar issue I don’t know of anyway to filter it. I think the only way to handle it is not to make any. The tar will damage a motor in a hurry.