First post, looking for advice

hello community, newbie here.

WARNING, stupid questions will follow.)))

i am trying to build a wood gasifier for a small engine to run 4kw generator in winter months, when the solar energy is insufficient, also wind does not help much.

some pics of how it looks like at this moment

overall view (parts are just stacked together)

DSC_2624

my first question is about location of ignition port relative to air nozzles. should it be on level with air nozzles, above or below?

thank you!

6 Likes

All of us were/are newbies. There are people here that have more experience with wood/ charcoal running small engines than I do so much I will defer to them. But I can give you a big Welcome to the DOW

12 Likes

Welcome to DOW, I see that you are quite far along in your build. Did you build it from plans? Can you give us a drawing of it, a side view of the gasifer? Many of us do not use a lighting port. We light it from the opening into the hopper by checking our charbed below the nozzles into the charbed at the grate. We use a rod to feel down into that area. By pulling the rod out slowly we make a hole down where we can light it. Some want to light it from the out side so you can put a lighting port in line with one of the nozzles so you can see straight into the nozzle hole. After the light up you can cap it off screw cap plug. Just looking at your welds it looks like this is going to be a fine gasifier. Is it a charcoal unit only? Or are you planning on burning wood too.
Looking forward to it running making good gases.
Bob

10 Likes

Tom,Robert, thank you for warm welcome.

i build it according to inverted cone gasifier dimension table i found in DOW library. 5x 7.5mm nozzle and 80mm restriction.

cross section looks somewhat like this

i hope to run it on wood chunks.
there is one image per post rule for new members and i have a few more photos, i will post them in my next replies. ))

8 Likes

view from above

5 Likes