Gasifier water problem

I am in the process of building a gasjifier for a ford 240 six cylinder which has a 10000 watt generator hooked to it…the wood I have is dried poplar. Even dried there’s water. It’s cold up here in northern British Columbia Canada. Anyone ran into the water problem? Any suggestions.?

3 Likes

I’m no expert, but I’d say that EVERYONE on this list has run into a “water problem” with a gasifier at one time or another.
My question is: How wet is it?
I’d take some samples, weigh them and then bake them in a kitchen oven at about 250 degrees F to dry them completely so there’s Zero percent moisture. Calculate the percent moisture in the “before” and the “after” wood from that.
When I do that, I let the samples sit in the oven for a half hour or so, weigh them, put them back, and continue that process until there is no change from the last test weighing.
My system uses wood chips and has no nozzles (yet). I want the moisture content of my wood to be 15% or less, but some gasifiers can handle somewhat more than that.

Pete Stanaitis

3 Likes

your bound to get water no matter what you do the secret is having it propely delt with…the water can come from the enviroment and you dont really want wood that is too dry b/c some of the water in the wood is converted to hydrogen. its really humid were i live and i put a second cyclone after my cooler and that hepled alot my bed filter dosent get so wet and try to have the cooler going up hill b/c as the wate drain back down the cooler it acctually catches more water and cools the cooler =)

my imbert can handdel really wet wood aperently the last run i put some block that was old in and aperently it got water like dumped on it sum time over the 3 years it was sitting in the basment and i didnt knowtice untill after the run the botom of the container was acctualy wet and it still ran the gasifier and the engine ran with no tar but lots of water in the sys after words =/