Longest Stationary Gasifier Run?

This sub forum is called the “small engine” forum, but I see it as the Drive on Wood forum for stationary gasifers, so, with that in mind:

What is the longest period of time that anybody has run an engine drawing at least a couple of kilowatts on a stationary gasifier?

My own goal is to produce 39Kw per hour of utility grade power for 10 hours at a crack, once a week. I wouldn’t mind being right there to maintain the system, but the thing will pretty much have to be outputting that amount of power for the full time. Once that time period, expires, I’d have no trouble with having to clean up, etc…

To put it another way, has anybody beat the GEK power pallet?

Pete Stanaitis

Hey Pete,

being a total newbie, I don’t want to be perceived as the smart-ass here, but I try to teach the students as well the difference between power and energy (or work) - so I kind of have to, I guess, although I do know and understand what you meant:

You want to produce 39 kW, that is 39 000 Joule per second (or Newton*meter per second). kW per hour doesn’t make sense that way.

For the 10 hour duration, I think you just have to extend your hopper and make it high enough. The experts might correct me on this, if I’m wrong.

Best regards,

Sam

Hey PeteS
Good to hear from you. You really ask a number of questions here.
39 kW in a single hour is going to require at least a 60 horsepower on woodgas engine output. Gonna take a min large six, eight cylinder engine to do this. So way above the design experience in this section.
Mr Waynes big vehicle systems with his travel running time would qualify as proven expereince produce for this amount of power for this long. Sean French has done this too.

GEK power pallet - which one? When? By Who? Only thier 100kW system would have this range of capability. Anybody documented done this for hours on a 100kW GEK system yet?
Other system types?
Sure.