New to Gasification - Where to start?

Hi everybody, I’m new to wood gas and feel like I’m spinning in circles. I’m hoping someone can point me in the right direction. Wow, what a great forum. So much information. I think I’m in the right place.

I’d like to build a wood gasifier to power 10 hp to 18 hp generators. The basic solution is to use this to charge a solar battery bank on grey days throughout the year. A successful system would produce reliable clean gas and this would save a lot of propane per year. I thinking a chunk wood system apposed to a charcoal system because I have a huge supply of soft woods (Balsam fir, spruce, red pine, etc). If it made sense, I can buy large quantities of hard woods (Birch, maple, etc).

For a bit I was considering building the FEMA system. then soon understood that these systems create a lot of tar. I was wondering if the tar production was just because the FEMA may not have a good filtering system and maybe that could be remedied. I also looked at purchasing some other books like the WG Builders Bible and Steve’s plans on offgrid48. If its the best way to go I’m interested in purchasing plans. I just dont want to have to purchase them all to figure out which is best for my needs.

I’m just confused on which system to pursue that would be best for my needs. Your suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance, Joe

13 Likes

Welcome to the forum!

How many CCs is the 18hp engine?

The Builder’s Bible is a really good book to have, and many have built that design to great success. It’s best running minimum engine size is a 500cc, but people have made it work for the 420cc Honda clone engines.

I’d steer away from Offgrid48’s design, it is a flat out cheap imitation of Ben Peterson’s design with poor modifications like silicone hose in places that can get hotter than 300°F.

It’s good that you’ve done a little initial research, the FEMA would have given you a lot of heartache.

12 Likes