Puff back spring tension strength

Hi Guys!
Just curious how strong puff back springs should be. I have a valve spring on my lid, but shaved a lot of metal off to reduce the tension. Any thoughts as to spring tension in terms of pounds of force?

This is my first build. How loud are these puff backs typically on a typical gasifier?

Just enough tension to keep it from smoking right after shutdown I’d say. I’m using the springs that hold brake shoes against the backing plate. The less spring you have and the bigger the opening the quitter it will be.

4 Likes

I use Jeep CJ hood latches, McMaster P/N#1344A21:

and have never had a failure even on my propane tank machine.

Stephen

2 Likes

I’m with Marvin .

Just enough to keep it from smoking .

I use screen door springs cut in half . . ( one spring cut so it will make two ) Total of 8 halves .

1 Like

not a lot… I use an electric fence gate handle thingy… just enough spring to keep some tension on it… but thats all

Should the hay filter or heat exchanger have any springs, AND my hopper door is 15" and hopper is 24"square,And 18" Tall,is the door enough opening for fuff back.THE hopper is getting built today,the metal is cut.ITS TIME TOO BBB STEEL.THANKS

I forgot the second question. My worst “sneeze” on a gasifier would rival a 12ga shotgun going off. The Victorias typically “Phfft!” instead of bang(!)

Stephen

Hello Kevin .

Several years back ( 2008 ) I used a puff lid on the heat exchanger but it caused problems and I discontinued

No puff lids on hay filter or heat exchanger now .

Nice! My neighbors will love that ; )

1 Like

Any changes in your gas production with these changes?

These look strong. Interesting.

I’m going the light tension seal route.

Ill echo what is said, you want just enough to create a seal during shut down. If you have no leaks the vacuum under operation will pull those lids shut.