Towing capacity of wood gas truck

Hey there, brand new member. Just curious if you convert a truck that has the capability of towing saying 10,000 lbs will it still be able to do that running off a wood gasifier or would I need to mix in regular fuel? Please excuse the ignorance of my question I’m new to all this. Thankyou!

1 Like

Good morning Tasha and welcome to the site .

I will be out the door in just a little while and firing up my wood burning work truck . I will be pulling a 40 foot trailer hauling hay . I expect the weight and the load will be over the 10,000 pounds you mentioned . Also the trucks weighs about 9,000 pounds.

I will be making short 8 mile round trips and will be able to run 100% wood. If I were making longer trips and staying up with traffic I would need to add in a little gasoline to avoid overheating the gasifier.

When hauling cattle to market I can usually make a 20 mile round trip with no gasoline if traffic is light.

One can build a gasifier big enough to handle the loads at higher speeds but if the same gasifier is operated at slow speeds without the heavy loads the gasifier will run too cold and tar the motor .

Below is a link for my work truck with lots of pictures and video if you are interested. I think I have been using the truck for about five years now. :grin:

3 Likes

Turn down ratio.

Great topic, how much can you tow and still idle the engine without tar production.

Wayne:
What are your thoughts on preheating the air for lower power levels only and running cool air for high load.
Many year ago at the Gasification list Doug Williams said this was a bad idea what are your thoughts?

Is there any other way to increase the operational envelope of a producer plant?

2 Likes

Hello Wallace