Which vehicle would you choose?

Ok, if you were looking for a pickup to run on wood that could give you good service and had the ability to do work around the farm. What would you choose? Why?

Blessings,

Chris

I choose and f 250 just because thats what i had… but i like the idea of a small truck with a big motor… i.e. the dakota with a 318 looks like a great rig…

John

Dakota would work for smaller jobs but wouldn’t handle my gooseneck trailer hauling hay, etc. Also is there a year model range we would need to stop at.

Hello Chris F,

I like the multiport fuel injection trucks. With the Dakotas they start at 1992. I am not sure with the other brands and models. Also I have no experience with the OBD2 systems which start at 1996 in most brands .
Bruce from Florida says the OBD2 works well. I plan on getting a newer truck as soon as I finish the one I am working on so I can test.
One other thought, the Dakota is not a work truck. It is a small car with a pickup bed on it.

BBB
Wayne

1 Like

Im not sure it really matters what truck to choose? as long as it has a powerful enough motor . remember that wood gas is not like gasoline you don’t have the same power that you would have with gasoline. so choosing vehicle with a larger motor would be what i would do… but thats me … i was surprised how easily the wood gas system i made worked with the existing carburetor of my fords 351 v-8 by leaving the original carb i can go back to gasoline quite easily! but a large engine uses a lot of gas wether its gasoline or wood gas. of course i have no experience with hauling with wood gas and such and only have 70 miles on my rig… if you already have a truck that you don’t mind experimenting with … use that one… thats my suggestion.

John

Chris,

Wayne does lots of farm work with his Dodge Ram V10 and his F250 460 V8 Ford. Both can haul long flatbed trailers loaded with hay. Check out his Farming videos where he’s using trucks for heavy work.

1 Like