Celebrating the Classic Woodgas Vehicle

I am starting a parallel topic to the “Newer Donor Vehicle”. I will never buy a nice, newer vehicle and cut it up for experimentation. My pocket is not that deep, I am not a great mechanic. I like mid-90’s Dakotas, and other proven conversions. I like small car, four-cylinder one-off experiments. I can afford to tinker with older stuff, and lose a few bucks in the process if the project is a bust. So, here is my first post. Please keep the subject on topic. If you are interested, post your own favorites :cowboy_hat_face:

16 Likes

The first video is Joost Conjin, who is an artist /mechanic/ inventor type, very creative. The self-built wood- bodied car, driving on wood, going past a mass burning of woody material, is poetic. This next one is Wayne Keith and his big-block Ford, working for a living. It is an early post from Wayne’s own YouTube channel, 13 years ago or so…

11 Likes

Here’s Gengas Werner and his old Chevy Van. I’ve always liked how it’s set up to refuel with the ladder.

10 Likes

And many more in the last 10+ years can be posted up. And even more previously.

One of the best overall video’s made. Individual family “vehicle” auto travel begins at 4:00.
(Note no road salt is being used. The car has rear wheel chains instead.)
S.U.

12 Likes

This is Andrew Heath’s Chevy LS-V8 powered Silverado. It is a 1999 model, this is its first woodgas run at Argos 2016. Still the latest model GM V8 I have observed driving on wood.

Unfortunately, rusted frame was so bad, truck had to be scrapped.

10 Likes

Herb Hartman’s Wood Powered Caddy:

To quote Herb: " I went out looking for a Dakota and came home with a 91 Caddy".
4.9L engine.

10 Likes

The Ballad of Drag’nwood. John Stout. This is an art piece that you may want to pop some popcorn and watch it a couple of times. Lord knows I have. :cowboy_hat_face:
The music is from “Carmina Burana”. (Carl Orff) It took me a long time to figure that out! :upside_down_face: