Gas filtration with Charcoal?

What would happen if you filtered (cooled) wood gas through a column of fine charcoal medium? Would it effectively remove remaining tar and allow the CO and H2 to pass through?

Thank you (I am a newbie)

Andrew

3 Likes

(When it plugged up you could use it as fuel and replace it with new?)

1 Like

Just found this article too.

https://reader.elsevier.com/reader/sd/pii/S258891331930050X?token=5A3C18A49B233C571B50D37450E67E56461DFB081A8E5AB45FAFFC128F3BBB54FE05FCAB6BA99BC8BDDAD9FF83DB7035&originRegion=us-east-1&originCreation=20221116150056

1 Like

Hi Andrew, welcome to the DOW site. Yes you can filter with charcoal. But I think it would be better to use hay or sawdust chips and just throw it into the compost pile when done. Reusing charcoal will be a little tricky. First you will have to wash it clean and dry to 10% moisture content. If it is fine smaller charcoal it would need to be mixed with wood if using it in a wood gasifier. I would not use it in a charcoal gasifier with because it could contain a lot of tar. Unlike regular charcoal that does not contain tar in it.
Tar is the enemy to engines.
A up draft charcoal gasifier does do some filtering when the gases move throw the charcoal cooling it. But it is also burning the charcoal up in a short time too.
Bob

4 Likes

THank you !!

I have also wondered about hot pumice stone as a filtration media. I have seen blacksmiths use it with their forge and it significantly decreases smoking at least…

Thanks again, lots to learn !!

4 Likes

Yes Andrew some have used lava rocks, puffed clay, or pumice for a hot filtration media. It doesn’t substitute a hay or cloth filter. The rocks are placed usually before the gas cooler so the gas is very hot.

2 Likes