Gasification planning

Ok. I am BRAND new to this, so please be kind! I only learned about wood gasification this weekend when someone happened to mention it as a way to power any carburetor engine. I was amazed what I learned when doing some research on the science of it all. So, my general questions, which hopefully some of you experts can answer for me:

1. Can I only consider a carburetor engine for wood gasification? If so, that obviously limits me to vehicles about 1990 or later in age. If that is incorrect, please tell me what I should be looking for in an engine when buying a vehicle to convert to wood gasification.

2. I am looking to install this in a truck. How big of an engine can support wood gas as its primary fuel? I was hoping to buy a 4x4 3/4 ton truck to put it in, but I am guessing that may be too much truck for the process.

3. Once installed in the truck, I also plan on being able to pull the truck up close to my house, so that I can fuel my 13,000 watt gas generator with the gas. Too big a unit to run off of a wood gas system?

4. From all of the information above, what size system should I be looking to build or buy?

Thanks, and sorry for so many questions. I appreciate any insight anyone can offer to the newbie!

Craig

11 Likes

Welcome! You have found the right place to ask those questions… ill let others that have been around longer answer your questions but i will say building your own system is the way to go… cost wise and knowlage of operation. Order the DOW book. The foks here will gladly answer your questions but the book and the premium side of the forum contain mountains of resources!!!
There are some amazing fully detaild builds to follow.

7 Likes

Hello Craig and welcome to the DOW

Some of your questions can be answered here

9 Likes

question 1