Have any one know about "dual fired gasifier" that have low tar content< 50 mg / nm3?

Hello everyone !
I am new to gasifier. and new to this forum too.
My project is to made 20kW electric generator from wood chips. and I live off grid. So this sytem would require to stand by or run everyday.
I read a lot about gasifier I think the most problem in gasifier to IC engine is tar.
I am finding the way to minimize it as much as possible but their have multiple solution.
So I came across to this paper it claim to minimize tar to < 50 mg per nm3. with 1 dry filter.
sound cool !!
Have any one know or have drawing about this gasifier ?
“viking gasifier” is seem good too but it require a lot of control.
dual fired gasifier

2 Likes

welcome to the forum c
To be short, there is only one way to deal with tar in a raw wood gasifier
NEVER PRODUCE IT!
Tar in no way can be actually filtered out, it will clog any filter we know of. If not condensed out and gas stream temps stay high, it will pass right through a filter and keep on going to a place we dont want it to be ie the engine.
That being said as far as users on this forum go we have 2 ways to deal with tar that will always work
1 The hot lobe inside the gasifier must remain at high enough temperatures throughout operation to never let tar pass by, but instead be thermally cracked into more gasses. This is very simple in theory, but in practice takes a skilled hand at operating the gasifier design you choose. Each gasifier is a female, they behave in the way they see fit regardless of how we may want them to, we are just along for the ride, and try to coax it in the direction we want to head.
Now keeping those temps up is a balancing act dependent on several variables, being size of wood feed stock such as
Too small of wood such as chips will cause a breathing restriction, not allowing air to penetrate into the hot zone and keep temps up, to stoke the fire per say