Modifying the Harbor Freight 120v welder (if you already own one)

Behold some simple, cheap modifications to turn a metal glue gun into a higher performance machine with a rock solid arc that welds like a dream.

I have the 90 dollar 90 amp flux core welder from Harbor Freight (item #68887) that I paid for by doing the muffler job on my truck two and a half years ago. Now I still have the welder, and I’m building a gasifier.

I studied the reviews on the HF website over a period of time before buying it. I asked my brother, an experienced MIG welder about flux core. He said it’s horrible. However, I decided it would work on my truck exhaust system, and it did. I read one reviewer say that he modified his HF welder to weld with DCEN (direct current electrode negative) instead of A/C. I was a bit confused and intimidated by that statement, though, and never seriously considered it. ChrisAdmin and Wayne Keith both highly recommend a quality welder for gasifier building, and I agree. But this is what I have.

Now during the building of my new gasifier I am taking some YouTube courses on flux core welding, and the topic of DCEN comes up over and over. Everyone including Steve Bleile, ChuckE2009, Miller, and everyone else says that flux core welding should be DCEN. Even the Harbor Freight manuals for the 170 and 180 amp units say that flux core should be DCEN. (They are not stupid.) I see the difference in the weld quality on DCEN, and also I see how simple and cheap it actually is to make the conversion.