Power adders for wood gas?

Newbie here just doing some research, so the question might not be the smartest, but why can we not use a power adder on wood gas engines? With gasoline, if you take a normal IC engine, inject double the fuel, and double the air with something like a turbo, then you will get about double the power out of the engine. Why can this not be applied to a wood gas set up? Have some sort of air pump that sucks the wood gasses through the system, and pushes it into the cylinder at some number higher than atmospheric pressure, and a turbo to push more air in, would this not create more power to make up for the normal power drop when converting to wood? Is there some reason like the volatility of wood gas or something that doesn’t allow this to work? I’m interested in hearing yall’s thoughts, Thanks!

3 Likes

Boosting can work, drawing both the gas and air through it into the engine like a draw through Turbo or Supercharger.

You can increase your engine compression to get horsepower back.

Increase spark advance.

With a small engine you can really only do so much. Flywheel timing advance key, shave the head a little. Woodgas can withstand about 17:1. Doesn’t mean your engine and valves can withstand that though. Always remember clearances of your moving parts.

3 Likes

it is done by some.

Problem is there is ratio of idle to full power to consider.
The gasification designs we use have a ratio that allows the engines to start and run at modest speeds then have a minimum peak power.
Beyond this peak things start to melt down in the gasifier.
if you shift the peak up ward with a bigger unit it might not make clean gas at lower power.

So the solution is generally to use a larger engine and stay in a narrow range of high to low power.

4 Likes

Interesting idea! Also I would suspect the colder you can get the gas, the denser it will become, also increasing power.