Woodgas byproduct

So Im totally new to this and seeking advice …simple question…when all the woodgas is produced and burned out,what is left afterwards?biochar or just plain ash?

1 Like

Welcome mike, If there is no leaks, you will have mostly char.

4 Likes

Thanks for that …what’s ur mass to by product %? Let’s say u put in 100lbs of wood…how much biochar/ash would u get out after?

2 Likes

every system is different My modified WK Gasifier if I run about 2500 lbs of wood through it I might get 3 gallons of char that isn’t used. but I pull really hard on my gasifier.

1 Like

Generally its 15%

I am working on a system that will produce biochar for both agriculture and power generation. This combining heat and hot water production with the char coaling process first. Biochar is then the byproduct of this stove and can be produced more in mass as its not as critical in direct wood heating. This stove basically produces fuel for your gasifier unit with little efforts required by the user. Access can then be used for agriculture or you can produce specific for that purpose.

1 Like

Thanks Matt.
All of mine have produced way less than that. Thanks for the Info.

2 Likes

On my Ranger short trips I will get about 20% char to raw wood, but I drove it to Ind. 400 miles used approx. 250lbs of wood, produced maybe a gal.

3 Likes

Welcome Mike; What Al said is true in the real world. The theoretical world is you start with wood and end with “ash”. If you put in 100 lb of wood— when strickly making charcoal out of wood, you end up with about 1/3 the VOLUME of what went in. I am not sure about the weight but it will be considerably less than a1/3 rd. the 100 lb. After the making of the charcoal in a gasifier, then the process removes a lot of the carbon (the “C”) out of the charcoal. Thus you end up with much less char than the volume of 1/3 of the 100 lb of wood. Something between the 1/3 and a couple of ounces of ash.