Can pyrolysis oil be re-gasified to fuel a gas engine?

Hi I am new to this site but I have experimented with wood gas for many years. My goal has been to run my irrigation pump engines on wood gas. ( I am a farmer in California raising Almonds)
I want to re-gasify pyrolysis oil in a retort, it may need to be steam reformation, to produce a gas that is manly CO, H2 and CH4. I am trying to produce a gas that is a higher BTU than producer gas is. I saw a flow diagram for making green diesel that followed my idea except I want to run a gas engine instead of making green diesel in a fischer tropsch reactor. I would appreciate any information or experience that any one can share.

3 Likes

Welcome to the DOW KenS,

https://www.methanol.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/01/MethanolReport.org
See if you can clean up this link for viewing.

→ Renewable Methanol (scroll to that page’s bottom)
→ MI report 2019
The page 9 flow graphic shows the gasification of wood → to syngas place in possibilities.
See then pages 12 and 17 for other process steps graphics.
Your answer is, YES.
But . . . many steps even just to gaseous, without going farther into a motor fuel liquid.

Then look at the reformation plant pictures on pages 14, and 24.
You would have to make a down scale sized similar to make enough fuel gas to feed hungry irrigation pump engines. And this will certainly not be hands-off.
Be a big jump from a fellow able to operate a nutshell/tree trimmings to woodgas maker, versus a reformation plant.
Can your orchard afford this expensive human operator?
Can your food growing orchard afford the drive-by visible exposure of a scary-dangerous “chemical plant”?

You are California.
I am Washington State.
CA, WA, OR main cities now are Eco-Activists centers.