Gasifier based on cattle dung

Dear all ,
I wish to make a gasifier which used cow dung dried as a feedstock

2 Likes

Interesting!
Early settlers and native Americans would burn buffalo chips (dung) as fuel.
I wish you success.
Rindert

Hello Vinod and welcome to the DOW ( drive on wood )

Wish I could help but I have no real experience with using cow dung in gasifier . However if dry dung is close to my wood pile I will throw it in but it makes very little percentage of the fuel.

4 Likes

Sir first of all thanks for your respond.
Here in India people still used dung chips for burning in stove . I just wanted to experiment the dried dung chip in gasifier .

2 Likes

Hello vinon- i have no experiance here either though, and wish you luck on the experiment, i think if its falling apart dry dong,it wont work well. very hard pressed chunks, or dryed and then pressed with a high temp binder would be more likely too make tar free gas vapor. Because what helps make tare free fuel is a good balance of a charbed too be pulling the smoke gas through. pellots or briskits may work better adding the biomass a little at a time. The problem from what i heard was with pellots, when the gasifier was shut down for a while, the pellots would fall apart and not make a good charbed ballance, Thus setting up too be makeing tar in the vapor fuel.How ever if you can find ways too use it in a 50 too 100 mile hopper fill up, it would be a great sourse of fuel for cattle farmers for sure.Good Luck .

3 Likes

Hello Vinon .

I think if I were using cow dung I would mix the gasifier also with some portion of wood . At least enough wood to maintain a charcoal base .

4 Likes

Thanks kmr land,
For your precious suggestion what kind of binder should I used for dried cattle dung

1 Like

Thanks Wayne,
But what proportion dried chunk of wood or charcoal should I use

1 Like

Good Morning Vinod , Hope all is well in India :blush: