Woodgas to diesel question

Hello All, im a new member and just started researching wood gas. I see here on the forums people using wood gas to run diesel engines. I have been a diesel tech for many years and my question is if your completely getting rid of the diesel how is the mechanical injection pump lubricated so it doesnt sieze up? I am assuming you dont need the injectors or fuel pump anymore can you just remove those parts so they arent ruined by running with no lubrication? Also not sure how the timing is controlled then with no pump or injectors. ( Just sucks in your fuel through the intake valves and when a certain compression is achieved it lites? Doesnt sound like a timed injection but im sure im missing something. Thanks

2 Likes

Patrick Johnson on the forums here converted a diesel generator to run his sawmill in Africa. You should be able to find his videos here or on youtube. He let the diesel return from the injection pump and kept track of the amount that it actually used. He has since moved out of Africa.
Here is a link for the youtube video…Woodgas powered sawmill, Cummins 6BTA running on wood gas - YouTube

6 Likes

So to answer your question, unless you convert the engine to spark ignition, you are not getting rid of the diesel fuel system, injectors or injection pump. That is what is not obvious in the Patrick Johnson video. He is running dual fuel while measuring the amount of diesel still flowing through the injectors. Diesel fuel cools the injectors, wood gas provides over 50% of the power to the load. The wood gas fuel can make use of the high diesel compression ratio due to high octane, slow flame front of wood gas typical chemistry. (A lot of inert Nitrogen)
Some diesel engines will not work well this way, and therefore the injectors can be damaged. I am not an expert, that is how it is supposed to work!

6 Likes

In this video Wayne shows how it works in a nutshell…

7 Likes