New Member question on International 1949 KB2 gas pickup

Hi. Thanks for letting me join the group! I’ve done some reading on the forum it sure looks like my kind of place! I’ve bought the book.
A friend has a 1949 International KB2 gasoline pickup we keep talking about making it run on wood gas. I know it’s a small motor so the power will be lacking. Do you think this will be a good candidate? It is totally original.
I’m also looking for a Dodge Dakota to. I’m not looking to reinvent the wheel on my first build.
I’m 63 years old I lived on a farm my first 42 years. I love to weld. I’m just a farmer welder nothing fancy. I do carpentry work and general maintenance work now. Thanks Chris

19 Likes

Welcome to the forum Chris.
Farmer, farm welder, carpentry and general maintenance, you will most likely do fine here :blush:

14 Likes

Thanks Johan! I’ve always wanted to go to Sweden my great grandparents were from there. I have no idea where.

9 Likes

Welcome Chris, I don’t know the specs of the '49, but my gut says it would be difficult to maintain highway speeds on woodgas, but if you just want it for backroads/around town, then it could do quite well. A first or second generation V8 Dakota can cruise at 65 on WG without a problem. Also, the MPFI makes for a simpler install.

9 Likes

82 Horsepower when the engine was brand new, not sure how well it’ll go down the road. You might be able to go 45mph on the flats but that’s just a guess. I’d maybe test it out with a charcoal gasifier just so you don’t have a whole lot of time involved, and if it performs well you could go for a raw wood system.

Is your friend totally averse to an engine swap?

11 Likes

Hello Chris and welcome to the DOW

I agree with Cody and Hans that you may be short on power but you can always switch to gasoline if in faster traffic :slightly_smiling_face:

12 Likes

You should see the steering and suspension on those old Internationals, you probably wouldn’t want to go over 50 in any case.