New Charcoal Kiln project

Uploading: 20220228_093155.jpg…

Uploading: 20220228_100738.jpg…
Hello all. I’m a South African farmer boy who moved to Sweden 5 years ago. I have been learning to love this new lifestyle,living with wood. It’s a new special relationship this cutting, splitting and storing wood. I have been slowly upgrading my wood processing area and process to be a little more efficient every year.

Currently all my wood processing is taking place in my barn and I want to built a permanent setup space for it outside, next to the barn in its own undercover area.This is where my new charcoal kiln project fits in, and if I may ask you all for some advice first.

I’m wanting to start easy and get something up and running first. So I’m thinking of doing a down draft version similar to the fine “kursk 2.0” model.

However this is where I need some advice. My context is primarily this unit will be for making charcoal then eventually making biochar with woodchips that I will feed into the drum via the top port with a hopper.I would like this set up to eventually in the future run a small motor that would charge a battery bank. But it doesn’t need to, I can also build another one ;). can I fit in the design so that I can pipe off the gas to the power unit when I need to do it eventually? Will this affect the char process or can I just keep feeding the burn chamber longer?

Also when I cut the one side off of this diesel tank I’m thinking of getting some flanges laser cut that I can weld back on the door and tank and seal with a fireproof gasket between. What do you recommend for the thickness of the flange materials. I was thinking around 12mm with M16 nuts & bolts spaced 8 around the circumference(maybe 12?)

I think I have drawn this us a updraught? Is it best to direct the gas back into the front of the burn chamber? Or can it come from the side or under?