Under the radar small car gasifier

Hi, I’m completely new to gasifiers and looking to get started. If my idea is feasible at all I’d like to give it a go, if only for the fun of it.

Unfortunately I live in a big city, and I’m looking to use a small car for a daily driver (cavalier, civic, corolla, etc). Having looked at some example vehicles running on woodgas, I notice that they have a very visible pipe system and/or large protruding containers. Living in a city, I’d strongly prefer to avoid drawing that sort of attention to my vehicle.

Can a practical woodgas city commuter be built where the piping is hidden underneath the vehicle, and the containers small enough to fit in the trunk? I’d also be willing to lose a sedan’s rear seats to make the required space. I could also remove the fuel tank for more room.

If it’s even possible, are there any builds I should look at to get off in the right direction? What vehicles would be ideal for this?

If it’s not possible with a car, could I hide a gassified truck with a bed cover?

6 Likes

HI Changeus , welcome you come to the right place here mate we have the master of sneaky Hidey nothing to see here Mr ! he goes by the name of Kristijan he’s your man who has done just what you want to do , just be mindful that the boot should be sealed and with no way into the cabin for any escaping gases .

Top of the page is a magnifying glass there are a couple of builds he has done the wood gasifier is not as stealth as the charcoal one but worth a read to get idea’s , i found the links for you save you searching .

Have fun . Dave

6 Likes

Welcome to the site Changeus. I am posting an Amazon link to Ben Peterson’s book. I don’t know if the earlier version is still available in which he built a gasifier hidden in the trunk of a Old Mustang. Later versions of the book replaced that section with some plans for automation. Still, a very good resource.